Chasing Birds Camo Lens Protection

Since I got my new camera, I’ve been able to photograph several birds that I hadn’t captured before. You might think it has nothing to do with the camera, and that’s partly true. However, the improved focusing system combined with bird recognition does make it easier for me to photograph birds at a distance, moving, or in flight. It has allowed me to take photos that would have failed in the past.

But there are still some birds that are very difficult to photograph. For example, I’ve been able to get quite close to buzzards and other birds of prey in the wild, but never long enough to capture them. There are a few other feathered friends that love to play hide and seek. I suppose it has to do with being very alert, shy, and easily scared – and yes, I mean the birds, of course. 🙂

I’ve researched a lot about this, and the usual advice is to use a hide. But in our small and densely populated country, that’s not so easy. It’s not that there isn’t space, but in the places I visit, there are usually other people around, and it wouldn’t be long before some curious folks show up and ruin the scene.

Another piece of advice is to blend in and use camouflage. Well, that’s more my thing. I’m usually camouflaged, but my shiny equipment might be what’s alarming those alert birds.

So, lens camo it is !

I bought “Green Leaf “Camo protection from “Chasing Birds” in China for both my Olympus 100-400mm and 300mm Pro and converters MC14 and MC20. Above are two photos taken of my set ready for shipping from China. I’m curious !

I also tried to find one for my Leica 100-400mm, but they didn’t sell it. However, I found a company in the UK and Romania called “LensCamo” that does sell them. I’m waiting until I receive the Olympus versions first.

These things aren’t cheap, but they do protect your lens from scratches and scuffs. I ordered them on May 28th, and they should have cleared customs by now, so I expect them to be delivered sometime this week.

I’ll keep you updated on how they are, how they feel, and whether they’re worth it – a brief review, in other words. Stay tuned !

One last addition:

Yesterday, I returned to the place where I had photographed the little grebe with the Leica Vario 100-400mm. This time, I brought the 300mm Pro with the MC20 converter, thinking I could get a closer shot. The first time, the distance was about 60 meters. Today, however, the little bird stayed even further away, around 80 meters—so much for the advantage of the bigger lens 🙂 . This got me thinking about the 150-600mm and the visible difference compared to a standard 100-400mm combined with the MC14 and MC20 converters. I also have a Sigma 600mm mirror lens. I decided to compare all of them by photographing a fixed subject to show the difference with a small subject at a great distance. I’ll publish this comparison soon, along with the continuation of my work on developing with RawTherapee 5.10, where I still need to address the denoising.


https://www.lenscamo.co.uk/

https://www.aliexpress.com/store/1103109062


La Gallerie

The photo gallery of Open Source Photography, Olympus micro 4/3 system, Vintage Lens Photograpy, Film Simulation, PictureFX, HDR – Photographer : Marc R.

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment

Discover more from Open Source Photography

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started